Listen to the Brand New Jazz Album Release Presenting the Andrew Longaker Trio

This album features a selection of takes from multiple recording sessions in late 2021 and 2022. The musical themes on this album hail from the Great American Songbook, with a few songs written more recently than the others, such as Dave Brubeck’s ‘Take Five’ and Art Blakey’s ‘Moanin’ (scroll down to view the year each song was composed). All songs were recorded live in the jazz trio format (electric guitar, upright bass, drums). No editing or overdubbing was used- what you hear in these takes is the way the music sounded when we recorded it. Only mixing was used to balance instrument levels.

Click the songs below to listen to samples, and scroll down to view more details like full song lengths and the year of original composition.


Standards And Beyond- Volume 1 song lengths, composer information and personnel list:

1. Limehouse Blues 6:36 (Phillip Braham- 1921)
2. Take Five 6:44 (Paul Desmond- 1959)
3. Take The A Train (Billy Strayhorn- 1939)
4. On A Slow Boat To China 7:15 (Frank Loesser- 1948)
5. Birk’s Works 6:38 (Dizzy Gillespie- unknown)
6. There Is No Greater Love 11:17 (Isham Jones- 1936)
7. Moanin’ 5:05 (Bobby Timmons- 1958)
8. On A Slow Boat To China 9:47 (alternate take)

Musicians- Guitars: Andrew Longaker (all tracks), Bass: Roman Gastelum (all tracks), Drums: Atticus Finch (tracks 1,3,6,7), Drums: Karo Galdjian (tracks 2,4,5,8). Mixed, mastered and recorded by Andrew Longaker. Released by Bog Light Records 2022 All Rights Reserved

This album features over 50 minutes of music, made up of jazz standards as main themes followed by extensive improvisation over these classic song forms. Not yet available on CD or vinyl, listeners can get early access to this music today with instant delivery to your email inbox in mp3 format, great for listening on android or iPhone or desktop computer.